inkscape + textext on Mac os x mountain lion

I’m a regular user of Inkscape for creating illustration of my papers. And one of the convenient Inkscape extension is Textext. Textext allows to write directly your latex formula in Inkscape and to re-edit them later (see website for more precisions).

I spend many hours on the web to find a way to install the Textext extension on my mac (10.8.4), tried almost lots of tricks, but I always faced an issue with the ““The fantastic lxml wrapper for libxml2 is required….” issue when I try use it !
[Edit 07/17: an alternative/better solution than the following can be found Here, thanks fsfarimani ]

I finally, I found the solution ! Here is the workflow:

  1.  Download/Install Inkscape ( note that you need Xquartz 2.3.4 or higher installed on your Mac)   the last RC of native os X  version of  Inkskape  HERE
  2. Download Textext last version from here
  3. Download/install the Eggbot extensions for Inkscape (This is the magic trick !)
  4. Browse inkscape package contents, find the extension directory and copy the 2 Textext file into
  5. Now you can use Textext extension on your mac !

I hope it works for you too !

 

 

13 Comments on “inkscape + textext on Mac os x mountain lion”

  1. […] course, my previous blog post on textext is still relevant with this […]

  2. joe says:

    You are my hero.

  3. For some reason I couldn’t get the Eggbot extension to install.
    However, I did find this website http://www.rosuda.org/misc/pstoedit/ that links to a pstoedit installer.
    After installing, Inkscape 4.8 had LaTeX support.

    • An says:

      The reason you couldn’t get the EggBot extenstion installed is most likely because you downloaded a newer version of it that’s incompatibile with Inkscape (the native OS X version). You need EggBot v2.4.0.

  4. Pesadilla says:

    I have a Mac with El Capitan and I am using Inkscape 0.91 and Eggbot v2.5.0. For this case textext is not working. I wanted to try also with EggBot v2.4.0, but I could not install it. Any idea how to solve the problem?

  5. Sara says:

    I use mac with mavericks and after following your tips I get the following error when I try to run the Tex Text from the extensions in Inkscape:

    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File “textext.py”, line 933, in
    e.affect()
    File “/Applications/Inkscape.app/Contents/Resources/share/inkscape/extensions/inkex.py”, line 268, in affect
    self.effect()
    File “textext.py”, line 348, in effect
    % ‘;\n’.join(converter_errors))
    RuntimeError: No Latex -> SVG converter available:
    Pdf2Svg: Command pdf2svg failed: [Errno 2] No such file or directory;
    PstoeditPlotSvg: Command pstoedit -help failed: [Errno 2] No such file or directory;
    SkConvert: Command pstoedit failed: [Errno 2] No such file or directory

    Probably some package or similar is missing, any idea of what I could do?

  6. […] Freebox revolution Alfred workflow inkscape + textext on Mac os x mountain lion […]

  7. Dimitris says:

    What worked for me in el Capitan:
    – install inkscape
    – brew install pstoedit
    – brew doctor to check that ghostscript etc are linked properly
    – edit textext.py (around line 727):
    pdflatex –> /Library/TeX/texbin/pdflatex
    move textext.py and textext.inx to ~/.config/inkscape/extensions/ (without creating a subfolder)

    • dani says:

      Dimitris nailed it. Either you edit the `.py` file for `textext` itself, or make sure that pdflatex is on the path during execution of that same python file. i went for their solution — edit like 727 in `textext.py` to contain the full path to `pdflatex`.


Leave a Reply

